StructureMurābaḥa: Manzil arranges purchase of the property and sells it to the client at cost plus a disclosed, fixed profit, repaid in equal instalments with no interest charged. Diminishing Mushāraka: Manzil and the homebuyer co-own the property; the client pays rent on Manzil's share and progressively buys it out until owning the home outright. Both contracts are certified by Manzil's SSB as compliant with AAOIFI Shariah standards and covered by its annual Shariah compliance statement.
The leading Canadian halal-finance brand, the first AAOIFI member in Canada, with a named Shariah board (incl. Mufti Faraz Adam) that publishes an annual Shariah compliance statement based on an external Shariah audit. AMJA reviewed Manzil and ruled both its murābaḥa and mushāraka contracts permissible out of need, while flagging that the company does not complete the property purchase in its own name and that foreclosure proceeds and losses on a sale must be shared in proportion to ownership (it praised Manzil's proportional split of insurance proceeds). Contract-dependent — verify the ownership step and default terms.
Provider’s website ↗Provider white papers, FAQs or fatāwā were read, but the executed contract itself is not public. This rates our certainty, not the provider’s compliance.
The five questions
How it answers, at a glance
Which contract
Mixed“Manzil offers two home-finance contracts: a Murābaḥa (cost-plus sale, fixed rate/term up to 25 years per the Manzil–IFAAS launch note) and a declining-balance diminishing Mushāraka”
Who holds title
Not disclosed“whether the mushāraka shows Manzil on title or only a registered charge are not public (AMJA implies title is NOT taken in Manzil's name)”
How the price or rent is set
Not disclosed“Honest limit: the executed Murābaḥa and Mushāraka contracts, the exact profit-rate benchmark”
What happens on default
Not publicly documented“the default/foreclosure & recourse clauses, the fee schedule”
Independent scholarly ruling
Permissible only in need“the Murābaḥa was ruled permissible OUT OF NEED on 28 Jan 2025, and the Mushāraka on 29 Jan 2025”
Note: The murābaḥa price is fixed; the mushāraka rate is fixed for 2 to 5 years and then repriced.
See how it compares across the US, UK and CanadaEstablished & regulatory standing
The verifiable facts
Established
Founded 2017 by Dr. Mohamad Sawwaf; launched halal mortgages in 2020. Surpassed CAD $100M in financings by Oct 2025; reports a multi-billion-dollar applicant waitlist.
Regulatory standing
A non-bank financial/fintech provider (not OSFI deposit-taking; no CDIC/deposit insurance on the financing). The first AAOIFI member in Canada. Its investing arm is delivered via OneVest, with custodians that are CIRO members carrying CIPF coverage.
Shariah board
Who certifies it
A Shariah Supervisory Board of Dr. Shaher Abbas, Mufti Faraz Adam and Dr. M. Anouar Gadhoum (named on Manzil's About page and its signed certificates, without credentials). Products were developed with IFAAS (Islamic Finance Advisory & Assurance Services): the 2020 launch note says IFAAS 'reviewed all legal agreements' for the Manzil Mortgage Fund and advised on the mortgage product, and BetaKit (Oct 2025) says the mortgage products were 'independently reviewed and certified by IFAAS'. The SSB's annual Shariah compliance statement (latest posted: 2023) says management appointed 'an independent professional firm' as external Shariah auditor, without naming it; Manzil also lists an internal Shariah auditor.
A named, credentialled board is a real signal — but a provider’s own board certifying its own product is not the same as arm’s-length review. Weigh it alongside the independent commentary below.
Independent scholarly review
What independent scholars have said
AMJA's Canada Resident Fatwa Committee dated its rulings precisely: the Murābaḥa was ruled permissible OUT OF NEED on 28 Jan 2025, and the Mushāraka on 29 Jan 2025. For the murābaḥa AMJA made three specific observations — (1) Manzil does not complete the purchase in its own name (to avoid double taxation), making its possession 'more of a formality than a legal reality'; (2) the advance earnest payment (hamish jiddiyah) must be held in trust with only actual damages deductible; (3) contract-drafting costs should be shared, not imposed wholly on the client even if the deal collapses. For the mushāraka it raised eight points (e.g. it should be Shirkat al-'Aqd not al-Milk; foreclosure proceeds and value-loss must be split proportionally) — while explicitly PRAISING that Manzil splits insurance proceeds proportionally and funds from investor capital rather than conventional banks, an independence AMJA called commendable. AMJA urged Manzil to appoint an INDEPENDENT Shariah board, which it does not yet have. Mufti Ebrahim Desai is also widely cited as endorsing Manzil (reported, not primary-verified).
Independent commentary is weighed, not treated as a final personal ruling. A body that rules one way is one respected voice, not a universal consensus — and rulings can lag changes to a live contract.
How the structure works
The mechanics, in principle
Murābaḥa: Manzil arranges purchase of the property and sells it to the client at cost plus a disclosed, fixed profit, repaid in equal instalments with no interest charged. Diminishing Mushāraka: Manzil and the homebuyer co-own the property; the client pays rent on Manzil's share and progressively buys it out until owning the home outright. Both contracts are certified by Manzil's SSB as compliant with AAOIFI Shariah standards and covered by its annual Shariah compliance statement.
This describes the structure in principle — it is not a verdict on the executed contract. Canada’s halal-finance market is young, so confirm each provider’s current executed terms before committing; the checklist below is what tests the fiqh.
From the public documents
How the contract actually works
Read from Manzil’s own public materials — white papers, product pages, FAQs and fatāwā — not its executed contract, which is generally not published. Where a point is undisclosed, it is said plainly rather than guessed. Sources are listed below.
Manzil offers two home-finance contracts: a Murābaḥa (cost-plus sale, fixed rate/term up to 25 years per the Manzil–IFAAS launch note) and a declining-balance diminishing Mushāraka where the buyer (min 20% down) and Manzil jointly buy the property and the buyer purchases Manzil's share via monthly payments; under the mushāraka the profit rate is fixed for a chosen 2/3/4/5-year term (i.e. repriced at renewal, consistent with Canada's 5-yr term cap). On ownership/title, AMJA's Canada Resident Fatwa Committee specifically reviewed Manzil and found that, to avoid double taxation, 'the company does not complete the procedures of purchasing the property in its own name as it does when selling it to its client,' so Manzil's possession and risk-bearing 'appears to be more of a formality than a legal reality'; the committee felt the co-ownership (Shirkat al-Milk) should fall under Shirkat al-'Aqd rules, yet ruled the product permissible out of need and urged Manzil to form an independent Shariah board. Products were built with IFAAS and certified by Manzil's Shariah Supervisory Board, which issues an annual Shariah compliance statement based on an external audit by a firm it does not name; Manzil is an AAOIFI member. Financing is funded via the Manzil Mortgage Fund, which trades on the Cboe Canada exchange and 'acts like a fixed-income fund.' Honest limit: the executed Murābaḥa and Mushāraka contracts, the exact profit-rate benchmark, the default/foreclosure & recourse clauses, the fee schedule, and whether the mushāraka shows Manzil on title or only a registered charge are not public (AMJA implies title is NOT taken in Manzil's name).
The Six-Pillar test
The questions that decide it
This is the universal lens this site applies to every home-finance contract, anywhere. Read each pillar as a question to put to Manzil’s executed contract — not its brochure.
- 1
Real ownership
Does the financier genuinely take ownership of the asset — even briefly — and bear a real owner's risk, rather than only ever holding a debt secured against it?
- 2
Risk-sharing
If the asset is destroyed or its value collapses, does the financier share that loss in proportion to its stake, or is the customer left bearing it alone?
- 3
Rent vs interest
In a lease/co-ownership, is the rent benchmarked to a genuine market rent for the property — or is it calibrated to an interest rate (a base-rate + margin) in disguise?
- 4
Default mechanism
On default, does the contract behave like the end of a real lease/partnership — or does it accelerate like a loan, demanding the full outstanding 'principal' plus charges?
- 5
No guaranteed pre-fixed return
Is the financier's return tied to real ownership and risk, or is it a pre-fixed, guaranteed sum that arrives regardless of what happens to the asset?
- 6
Substance over form
Strip away the Arabic labels: does the cashflow, risk, and outcome differ from a conventional loan — or is it the same economics wearing a compliant name (ḥiyal)?
Before you sign
What to ask Manzil, in writing
Put these to the provider in writing and keep the answers. The reply — not the marketing — is what tells you whether the structure holds.
Does Manzil take title in its own name before selling/co-owning, or only register the client on title — and what are the legal/tax consequences either way? (AMJA's specific concern.)
For the diminishing mushāraka, exactly how are losses, property damage and insurance proceeds split between Manzil and me?
Is the profit/rent fixed for the whole term or repriced at renewal, and what are the exact prepayment and early-exit terms?
Which specific contract (murābaḥa vs mushāraka) am I signing, and can I see the AAOIFI/IFAAS certification and latest annual audit?
What happens to my position and obligations if Manzil becomes insolvent — is there any deposit/asset protection?
The honest gap
What we have not verified
- AMJA's concern that Manzil 'does not complete the procedures of purchasing the property in its own name' — has this been structurally resolved since the resolution?
- Published credentials for the three named SSB members (Manzil's About page lists names only), and the name of the external Shariah auditor.
- Whether financing is funded on balance sheet vs via the Manzil Mortgage Fund, and the implications for the client.
The reasoning
Why this verdict, and not another
A verdict is only as honest as the reasoning behind it. Here is why Manzil sits where it does — what keeps it off a clean pass, and what keeps it off an outright avoid.
Not a clean pass because
AMJA found that, to avoid double taxation, Manzil does not take the property into its own name — so its possession “appears to be more of a formality than a legal reality” — and the executed contracts, profit benchmark and default clauses are not public.
Not an outright avoid because
AMJA ruled both its murābaḥa and mushāraka permissible out of need, it is Canada's first AAOIFI member with a named board (incl. Mufti Faraz Adam) that issues an annual Shariah compliance statement after an external audit, and the profit is fixed per term — a developed, audited structure, not a re-papered loan.
Sources
What this read is built on
The verifiable references behind this page — provider documents and independent scholarly resolutions. Read them yourself; do not take our summary on trust.