StructureDiminishing mushārakah: Central 1 and the homeowner jointly purchased the property; the homeowner paid monthly amounts comprising rent on the lender's share plus buyout instalments reducing that share, with full title on completion. A ~$120M facility was secured from Credit Union Central of Ontario in 2004; ~500+ homes were financed over the company's life.
Historically critical and NOT a live option — listed for honesty. Canada's first large Islamic home-finance failure: ordered into receivership by the Ontario Superior Court on 7 October 2011 after its funding partner (Central 1 Credit Union) withdrew, leaving ~170 Toronto-area homeowners and ~$32M in mortgages in limbo. In 2014 the RCMP charged its CEO and the chair of its board of religious advisers, alleging they pocketed $4.3M in mortgage payments, plus the 'purchase and disappearance' of 32kg of gold bars; both were ACQUITTED of all charges on 7 June 2019. The lesson is structural: a halal product built on a conventional credit-union liquidity line is only as stable as that line.
Provider’s website ↗Contract-grade public documents were read directly (e.g. a full Terms & Conditions or a scholar-reviewed contract). This rates our certainty, not the provider’s compliance.
The five questions
How it answers, at a glance
Which contract
Diminishing musharakah“The diminishing-mushārakah structure itself was broadly sound”
Who holds title
Not disclosed“it is unclear who ultimately owns the home in the case of a bankruptcy by the lender, if legal title remains with the lender”
How the price or rent is set
Not disclosed“Executed UM–homeowner contracts are not public.”
What happens on default
Not publicly documented“Executed UM–homeowner contracts are not public.”
Independent scholarly ruling
No independent ruling found“Not assessed by AMJA. The Islamic Banking and Finance Network (IBFN) reposted a Reuters report on the collapse”
Note: Collapsed into receivership in 2011; listed as a warning, not an option.
See how it compares across the US, UK and CanadaEstablished & regulatory standing
The verifiable facts
Established
Began Shariah-compliant lending ~2005 in partnership with Central 1; receivership 7 October 2011; its former CEO and its Shariah-board chair were acquitted of all charges on 7 June 2019. Defunct.
Regulatory standing
The Globe and Mail describes UM Financial Inc. and UM Capital Inc. as 'federally registered firms'; the sources we read describe no banking or credit-union licence of its own. Its mortgages were 'financed through Central 1 Credit Union' (CBC). Court-ordered receivership 2011.
Shariah board
Who certifies it
UM had a Shariah board: CBC reports it was chaired by an Islamic scholar (later acquitted alongside UM's CEO), 'later incorporated as the Multi Cultural Consultancy of Canada (MCC)', and issued fatwas confirming UM's mortgages as Shariah compliant. Its other members are not named in the sources we read.
A named, credentialled board is a real signal — but a provider’s own board certifying its own product is not the same as arm’s-length review. Weigh it alongside the independent commentary below.
Independent scholarly review
What independent scholars have said
Not assessed by AMJA. The Islamic Banking and Finance Network (IBFN) reposted a Reuters report on the collapse in 2013 with a short introduction, and CBC and the Globe and Mail covered the collapse and the trial.
Independent commentary is weighed, not treated as a final personal ruling. A body that rules one way is one respected voice, not a universal consensus — and rulings can lag changes to a live contract.
How the structure works
The mechanics, in principle
Diminishing mushārakah: Central 1 and the homeowner jointly purchased the property; the homeowner paid monthly amounts comprising rent on the lender's share plus buyout instalments reducing that share, with full title on completion. A ~$120M facility was secured from Credit Union Central of Ontario in 2004; ~500+ homes were financed over the company's life.
This describes the structure in principle — it is not a verdict on the executed contract. Canada’s halal-finance market is young, so confirm each provider’s current executed terms before committing; the checklist below is what tests the fiqh.
From the public documents
How the contract actually works
Read from UM Financial (United Muslim Financial)’s own public materials — white papers, product pages, FAQs and fatāwā — not its executed contract, which is generally not published. Where a point is undisclosed, it is said plainly rather than guessed. Sources are listed below.
The diminishing-mushārakah structure itself was broadly sound, so this is not a doctrinal failure but a governance and liquidity one. The fatal flaw was dependence on a conventional credit union (Central 1): when Central 1 demanded repayment in 2010 and pursued receivership in 2011, homeowners' title positions became unclear — a Reuters report reposted by IBFN noted that 'it is unclear who ultimately owns the home in the case of a bankruptcy by the lender, if legal title remains with the lender.' CBC reported the receivership came after mortgage payments due to Central 1 were in arrears; a UM board member told Reuters at the time that, to his knowledge, no payment of the loan to Central 1 was in arrears. Executed UM–homeowner contracts are not public. The 2014 RCMP charges alleged that UM's CEO and the chair of its board of religious advisers pocketed $4.3M in mortgage payments, plus the 'purchase and disappearance' of 32kg of gold bars; both were acquitted of all charges on 7 June 2019, so no criminal wrongdoing was proven. AMJA's later (2025) remark on AYA's 'reliance on conventional banks or credit unions to secure liquidity' reads, in hindsight, like a direct description of UM's failure mode.
The Six-Pillar test
The questions that decide it
This is the universal lens this site applies to every home-finance contract, anywhere. Read each pillar as a question to put to UM Financial (United Muslim Financial)’s executed contract — not its brochure.
- 1
Real ownership
Does the financier genuinely take ownership of the asset — even briefly — and bear a real owner's risk, rather than only ever holding a debt secured against it?
- 2
Risk-sharing
If the asset is destroyed or its value collapses, does the financier share that loss in proportion to its stake, or is the customer left bearing it alone?
- 3
Rent vs interest
In a lease/co-ownership, is the rent benchmarked to a genuine market rent for the property — or is it calibrated to an interest rate (a base-rate + margin) in disguise?
- 4
Default mechanism
On default, does the contract behave like the end of a real lease/partnership — or does it accelerate like a loan, demanding the full outstanding 'principal' plus charges?
- 5
No guaranteed pre-fixed return
Is the financier's return tied to real ownership and risk, or is it a pre-fixed, guaranteed sum that arrives regardless of what happens to the asset?
- 6
Substance over form
Strip away the Arabic labels: does the cashflow, risk, and outcome differ from a conventional loan — or is it the same economics wearing a compliant name (ḥiyal)?
Before you sign
What to ask UM Financial (United Muslim Financial), in writing
Put these to the provider in writing and keep the answers. The reply — not the marketing — is what tells you whether the structure holds.
Not applicable — the provider is defunct; do not engage.
The transferable lesson: who holds your title if the co-funder (bank/credit union) defaults or withdraws?
Does your prospective provider fund from Muslim investor pools rather than a conventional credit line?
Is there a published wind-down protocol that protects your equity if the company fails?
The honest gap
What we have not verified
- UM Financial's Shariah-board membership beyond its chair is not publicly confirmed.
- Whether the 2019 acquittal led to any homeowner restitution, or losses stood.
- The post-receivership fate of individual homeowners' titles is not fully documented publicly.
The reasoning
Why this verdict, and not another
A verdict is only as honest as the reasoning behind it. Here is why UM Financial (United Muslim Financial) sits where it does — what keeps it off a clean pass, and what keeps it off an outright avoid.
Not a clean pass because
The company is defunct, was placed in court-ordered receivership, and its CEO and Shariah-board chair faced fraud charges, of which both were acquitted; severe governance and liquidity-dependency failures.
Not an outright avoid because
The acquittal means criminal wrongdoing was not proven, and the underlying mushārakah contract was Shariah-appropriate — the failure was institutional, not in the structure's permissibility.
Sources
What this read is built on
The verifiable references behind this page — provider documents and independent scholarly resolutions. Read them yourself; do not take our summary on trust.
- CBC — court hears Islamic bank dispute (2011)
- Globe and Mail — RCMP charge financier with $4.3M fraud (2014; updated 2019 with the acquittal)
- CBC — fraud trial adjourned; charges and receivership background (Nov 2017)
- CBC — both men acquitted of all charges (2019)
- IBFN — UM Financial: Lessons Learned (2013 repost of a Reuters report)